serenelysarah

Musings on healthy living

Zip a dee Zoodle

Leave a comment

I have been traveling a lot lately and cannot even communicate how thrilled I am to be home.  I am excited for a return to routine and to be back in the kitchen, controlling what I consume!  My aunt gave me an Amazon gift card for my birthday and I knew just what I wanted…a spiralizer.  This is only the second kitchen gadget I have purchased since going paleo; the first being my food processor.

http://www.amazon.com/Paderno-World-Cuisine-A4982799-Tri-Blade/dp/B0007Y9WHQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1413766859&sr=1-1&keywords=spiralizer

Greys 023

Yay!  I was even able to assemble it myself!  (note: this means it required nearly no assembly)  Then I just needed to find some recipe inspiration, so naturally I went to http://www.inspiralized.com and there I found a recipe for crockpot cauliflower “bolognese” – perfect!  I added some diced carrots and mushrooms to punch up the veggie content even more.

http://www.inspiralized.com/2014/04/14/crockpot-cauliflower-bolognese-with-zucchini-noodles/

Finally, my zucchini noodles, or “zoodles”:

Greys 024

Whee!  Really easy.  Final dish was meat free, chock full o’veggies, and SO similar to the real thing that Chris was bemoaning his lack of garlic toast to mop it up.

Greys 030

This is perfect timing as I’ve been kind of missing Italian food; I may try sweet potato noodles with meatballs next!  New kitchen tools are a great non-food reward for maintaining a healthy lifestyle; the spiralizer would also be a fun way to get kids involved in the kitchen and eating vegetables in a different form.

Be well!

Leave a Reply

