serenelysarah

Musings on healthy living

I’m no Rachael Ray, but…

Leave a comment

…I’ve got a 30 minute (or less) meal for you today!  I hate to out myself as I prefer for my husband to assume that I toil in the kitchen for hours and hours to produce our meals, but these recipes are just too flavorful and fast not to share.

Today I combined an easy baked tilapia recipe with roasted okra.  These are baked at the same temp in the oven, for the same amount of time, so it’s a breeze to throw this meal together.  If you have been feeling like you “should” be eating fish this would be a great gateway dish as the fish is mild and you get a lot of flavor from the other ingredients, including capers.  If you want to make it perfect paleo, just use coconut oil instead of butter.

A client gave me a bag of okra from her garden (my sister, horrified, “That wasn’t your tip, was it?”) and I was excited at the challenge to cook with a new vegetable.  I’ve had okra very rarely and only fried.  So I found an easy recipe for roasting it in the oven and it isn’t gummy or slimy at all (a common okra complaint)!  I like to add 1 tsp of garlic powder to kick up the flavor just a little bit more and make it more cohesive with the fish; I only used 1 tsp of salt, not 2.  Don’t be afraid to try new things!  Okra shares a lot of the same nutritional benefits as kiwi fruit, including high levels of folate and Vitamins A, C, and K.

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/baked-tilapia

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roasted-Okra/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=okra&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&soid=sr_results_p1i1

food 001

food 004

food 007

(Also pictured:  sweet potato which was microwaved for 6 minutes, then topped with raw coconut butter and cinnamon).

Now I’m headed out for a hair appointment and then I get to give veterans free massages tonight!  No one has time to slave away in the kitchen all day so I hope this inspires others that healthy food can also be “fast food”!

Be well!

Leave a Reply

