serenelysarah

Musings on healthy living

The Miracle Morning

Leave a comment

I checked out a book from the library called “The Miracle Morning” by Hal Elrod, despite being dissuaded by its claim that I would “transform my life before 8 a.m.”  That sounded a touch ambitious given my penchant for sleeping until 9.   I gave the very small book a healthy skim and was relieved to determine that the miracle was not time-sensitive.

So, here’s the secret:  you meditate, affirm, visualize, exercise, read, and journal.  This can be compressed to 6 minutes or expanded to an hour.  Here’s what I’ve been doing:

I get out of bed and sit on my meditation cushion for 3-5 minutes.  Then I read a few affirmations aloud….I figured out what I wanted to work on and found some good ones online.  I currently say things like, “Positivity is a choice”, “I am prepared to succeed”, and “I choose contentment”.  Then I visualize for about a minute, and just think about concrete items that could unfold in my day related to my affirmations/goals.

Most mornings for exercise I do a 10-15 minute yoga routine which fits with this whole endeavor nicely…but sometimes I walk, and if I’m pressed for time, I might just do a minute of push-ups, planking, or jumping jacks.  Then I read from my intellectual devotional and do some gratitude journaling.

http://www.amazon.com/Intellectual-Devotional-Complete-Education-Confidently/dp/1594865132/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1434913444&sr=8-1&keywords=the+intellectual+devotional&pebp=1434913459055&perid=0DA0YAX7G725XBKGW6BD

http://www.amazon.com/Gratitude-Journal-Catherine-Price/dp/081186720X/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1434913476&sr=8-8&keywords=gratitude+journal&pebp=1434913483053&perid=08T6EWM8DRJ1XGJ3D360

I don’t know that this is the stuff of miracles; I don’t have any anecdotal evidence to give you goosebumps.  I like that it forces me to specify my goals and gives me a clearer understanding of what I want to achieve and how I wish to comport myself every day.  My muscles are less sore, I’m more flexible, and I’m giving more at work.  I feel a little happier, a little more grateful, and a bit smarter.

Nurture yourself so that you can nurture others – in whatever form that may take for you.

Be well!

Leave a Reply

